Twitter feed

DANWISE would like to express its deep support for Gender Studies in Denmark. The knowledge that gender scholars produce is crucial for pursuing equality in Danish academia and beyond.
GenderinginResearch @GiR_AU
This is deeply worrying! DF's new programme. Where is the outrage from academic leaders and non-gender studies scholars?!

The 2021 World Economic Forum ( @wef) Global Gender Gap report was published last week and here’s how Denmark is doing:

We have fallen from last year’s 15th to 29th place in this year’s ranking. (8th in 2006)

Needless to say more work needs to be done.

"Only one in ten top-earning faculty members is a woman."

#WomeninSTEM #WomeninAcademia

You can now apply for the Inge Lehmann program from

"Inge Lehmann-programmet vil styrke talentudviklingen i DK forskning ved at fremme en mere ligelig kønssammensætning af forskningsmiljøerne"

#WomenInSTEM #WomenInScience #GenderEquity #AcademicTwitter

Are you a DANWISE member yet?

Coming soon:
Our newsletter highlighting our conference about a gender equality model in Denmark and more.

To receive our newsletter and to benefit from and support DANWISE's initiatives, register as a member here:

"A longer shortlist increases the consideration of female candidates in male-dominant domains"

This a low-cost strategy that universities/male dominated industries may consider to increase diversity.

#bridgingthegendergap #WomenInSTEM

The Danish Society for Women in Science (DANWISE) is a non-profit organization committed to BRIDGING THE GENDER GAP in the STEMM, humanities and social sciences fields in Denmark,
by increasing gender inequality awareness,
by reducing gender biases
and improving hiring and promotion of women.


Membership is free.
We encourage all persons of any gender that wishes to apply to join DANWISE.

We are delighted to announce the two selected winners of the 2021 DANWISE Prize: Professor Anja Andersen (KU) and Professor Jens Hjorth (KU).

Anja was selected as a winner based on:

  • long-standing work in gender equality in academia
  • contributions on the Task Force for women in Research and Leadership
  • media outreach in these issues
  • work in improving diversity for women in Physics at the University of Copenhagen
  • co-initiation of the researcher’s #Me-too petition last fall.
Jens was selected as winner based on:
  • long-standing work in gender equality in academia
  • highlighting inequality in distribution of funding by the DFF over a 10 year window
  • diverse contacts to the media on gender equality and retaining talent
  • the initiatives taken and success achieved in recruitment of young female talent into the Physics area at University of Copenhagen
  • the encouragement of taking paternity leave
  • bringing forth longer employment contracts locally in the Institute.